Roasted Butternut Squash soup

butternut

Happy new year, folks! I trust you had a nice Christmas. I served up a roast lamb with roasted parsnips, carrots, potatoes and Yorkshire Puddings as well as freshly boiled broccoli. It was a spicy roast with a delicious gravy to accompany it. Just reminiscing about it is making my mouth water. I may have to recreate it again very soon and if I do, I shall share the recipe on Cook With Sheenie.

For now I have a recipe on roasted butternut squash soup. Shockingly I became acquainted with butternut squash only last autumn when I started outdoor running and wanted to find healthy and nutritional alternatives for a balanced diet. It was love at first taste!

I’ve cooked it with couscous but I adore it more in soup and it’s so quick and easy to make. It is a really tough squash to cut up and it baffles me at how people battle to cut it up raw. Don’t! Just slice it in half and roast in the oven, then just scoop out the flesh. Why would you try to break your arm chopping up a butternut squash?

Any way, I present my recipe on roasted butternut squash. I have measured quantities by estimation, something I’m growing to do more when I can’t be bothered to get the scales out. Let me know what you think if you decide to make this.

Ingredients:

1 butternut squash
1 large or 2 small onions, chopped
a handful of garlic cloves halved
½-1 tsp chilli powder (optional)
freshly ground pepper
olive oil
vegetable stock cube

Serves 4

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven at 180C/350F/gas mark 4.
  2. Slice a butternut squash in half, scatter the halved cloves of garlic on the flesh and drizzle olive oil.
  3. Roast in the oven  for about 40 minutes or until the squash is tender and has turned golden brown.
  4. Scoop out the flesh and set aside.
  5. Fry the chopped onion in some oil until soft.
  6. Add the butternut squash and cook for a few minutes.
  7. Pour in the vegetable stock, stir for a couple of minutes on high heat and then allow to simmer for 30 minutes.
  8. Finally blend the soup either in a liquidiser or with a hand blender.
  9. Serve hot or freeze for consumption later.
