Madeira Cake

This week’s recipe is a classic – Madeira cake.  It’s also a favourite of my mum’s who requested I make it with my new mixer.

I have been looking forward to getting hold of this machine for a long time and after much deliberation between a KitchenAid and Kenwood K-Mix, I settled for the latter.  I can’t wait to see how quickly I’ll be able to make cupcakes now and with less mess too from the splashguard. Swoon!

This cake took less than 10 minutes to mix together but I’ve made it with an electic hand mixer and by hand too.  It’s not a particularly sweet-tasting cake and it’s so easy with very few ingredients needed.

Ingredients:

175g caster sugar
175g butter
3 eggs, lightly beaten
225g self-raising flour, sifted
3 tbsp milk

Oven setting: gas mark 3/160°C/325°F

Method:

  1. Grease a round or loaf tin.
  2. Cream the sugar and butter together.
  3. Add the eggs slowly and half of the flour.
  4. Add the remaining flour and then enough milk till the mixture has a soft dropping consistency.
  5. Spoon the mixture into the tin and bake in the oven for 1¼ – 1½ hours or until the cake is firm to touch and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  6. Leave the cake to cool in the tin for about 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.
  7. Keep in an airtight container and consume within 3 days.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. White Bazaar says:

    Love madeira cake, yours looks yummy, I always put a touch of lemon zest in mine! I so need a mixer like that!

    1. Sheenie says:

      The mixer makes such a difference – you can make batches at a time and it’s all mixed in a few minutes! I also recently tried it with ground almonds – yum!

Leave a Reply

