Chocolate Cookies

I recently replaced my tired, old semi-functioning cooker with a super-swish stainless steal beast which means more baking!

A new cooker and oven has got me thinking about so many things I’d like to bake.  I’ve been reminiscing about making cookies and am on the quest to find the perfect recipe for me. It needs to be crunchy on the edges, and soft and chewy in the centre. And if they’re to be enjoyed straight out of the oven, then it is imperative they are gooey in the middle.

After studying numerous recipes, I cobbled something together and it went down very well with my enthusiastic guinea pigs at work. I also noticed a lot of recipes used plain flour with bicarbonate of soda but this one uses self-raising flour and works really well.

Ingredients:

85g butter
85g granulated sugar
85g dark muscavado sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
170g self-raising flour
pinch of salt
100g chocolate chips/other filling of your choice (nuts, white chocolate, dark chocolate, dried fruit)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to gas mark 4.
  2. Cream together the butter and sugars.
  3. Add the egg and vanilla extract.
  4. Sift in the flour and salt and mix.
  5. Stir in the chocolate chips with a wooden spoon (or stick a bar in a plastic bag and smash it with a rolling pin. Alternatively if you have a mini electric chopper, then give it a whizz for a few seconds).
  6. Spoon golf-sized balls on grease-proof paper with an ice-cream scoop (or roughly double the size for giant cookies).
  7. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown around the edges.
  8. Leave to cool before eating. Done.

Tip: If you add nuts, the cookies will be crunchier. Chocolate gives the dough a soft texture.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Leanne says:

    Hnnnnggghhh oh my goddd.
    You know, sometimes I think you’re probably not the best person to be friends with whilst I’m losing weight.

    1. Sheenie says:

      Ahhh, just think it’s much nicer to have home-made goodies than supermarket produce stuffed with dodgy preservatives!

  2. Victoria says:

    I have been looking for a good cookie recipe and this looks it might be it!

  3. Victoria says:

    Gave your recipe a try tonight. It worked beautifully! Lovely gooey, American style cookies! I served one straight out of the oven with a scoop of ice cream to my fiance and it got a big thumbs up. Wrapping up 6 of them as a little foodie gift for my friend’s birthday tomorrow too!

    1. Sheenie says:

      Victoria, that’s fab! I’m going to try it with ice cream. I baked some more last week – dark chocolate with macadamia nuts. Amazing!

      Thank you for letting me know they turned out well.

Leave a Reply

