Chicken & Mango salad

IMG_8168

Ah! Another long pause since my last food posting. I am going to start making more of an effort in updating this blog. Yes, I promise! Today I’ve got a really quick and easy recipe to share and it’s from an unlikely source – supermarket magazines. I don’t mean the ones Sainsburys’ or Waitrose sell, but those little free booklets. I always pick up a copy in whichever supermarket I happen to go shopping in and last week, I was in Asda and found a mouthwatering recipe for chicken and mango salad.

The recipe asks for fresh mint leaves and honey to be mixed into the yoghurt dressing but I didn’t have any mint leaves handy, and I’m not personally keen on honey in savoury dishes but I used the rest of the ingredients listed. It’s something that won’t take more than 30 minutes to make.

Ingredients:

4 chicken breast fillets
1/3 cucumber
300ml chicken stock
4 spring onions, trimmed and sliced
1 red pepper, deseeded and cut into bite-sized pieces
2 baby gem lettuces, trimmed and leaves separated
1 large mango, peeled, stoned and sliced
4 tbsp Greek style yoghurt
1 tbsp chopped fresh mint
2 tbsp lemon juice, freshly squeezed
1 tsp clear honey

Serves 4

Method:

  1. Put the chicken and stock in a pan, heat until simmering, then cover and cook for 20 minutes. Drain, leave to cool and then cut into bite-sized pieces.
  2. Halve the cucumber lengthways, scoop out the seeds and slice into crescents.
  3. Mix the cucumber with the spring onions, red pepper, baby gem lettuce leaves, mango slices and chicken.
  4. Mix the yoghurt with the lemon juice, mint and honey and drizzle over the salad.
  5. Season and serve  to hungry but happy faces.

IMG_8168

Leave a Reply

