Noodle coconut soup

photo

A few weeks ago a friend invited me to her place for food and Anchorman. She made a coconut noodle soup, a recipe she literally threw together with any leftovers she needed to use up. I begged her for a guidance so she helpfully scribbled some notes and gave me the useful advice to make it to however I desired.

I decided to use red curry paste and added frozen sweet corn and peas into the mix – and I don’t measure, I just go by estimation adding as much as I felt was OK like my friend did. I never used to buy frozen vegetables but now I realise the convenience and economy of keeping some in storage for filling hearty meals like this for the winter and this one sure warms the cockles.

When served fresh, it is quite watery but the following day it becomes thick in consistency. Either way, I love this. It’s proved to a wonderful way of using up left-over vegetables before they go off and every time I make this, it’s always different (depending on what’s in the fridge). Next time I am going to use some baby spinach leaves. Remember, don’t feel as if you have to follow this recipe word-for-word with the ingredients. Use whatever you have. I reckon crab meat would work well with this broth or go totally veggie. If you try something different, do let me know in the comments box below.

Ingredients:

1 large or 2 small onions, chopped
2 tomatoes, chopped
2 cloves of garlic and 1 inch of ginger, chopped, or 2 tsp garlic/ginger paste
1 tbsp cumin
1 tbsp coriander powder
1 tsp turmeric
½ tsp chili powder
Chopped vegetables of your choice (baby corn, mange tout, peppers, mushrooms, peas, sweetcorn, etc)
1 small packet raw prawns (or cooked/peeled prawns) or chicken, chopped
A handful of dried egg or rice noodles
½ tin coconut milk or ½ mug of coconut from powder (I used low-fat coconut milk)
1 tbsp tomato puree
Salt/pepper to taste (or you can use soy sauce instead of salt)

Serves 4

Method:

  1. In a wok or shallow pan, fry the onions in a glug of olive oil until soft. Add the garlic and ginger, cook for a few minutes, then follow with the dry spices. Cook the spices out for a few minutes.
  2. Add the tomatoes and prawns/meat and cook dry until the tomatoes start to soften. Then add the vegetables and stir until everything is coated in the sauce.
  3. Add boiling water to just cover the vegetables and cook on a low simmer until vegetables/prawns/meat is cooked (approximately for 10 minutes).
  4. Add the coconut and a squeeze of tomato puree and simmer for a further 5 minutes, adding additional water until the soup is of the desired consistency.
  5. If using rice noodles, you can add directly to the soup. If using egg noodles, first boil separately until almost cook, drain and add to the soup.
  6. Cook the noodles in the soup for a few minutes.
  7. Can add fresh coriander or dry roasted pine kernel/peanuts/cashew nuts if desired.
  8. Serve!
Leave a Reply

