Rosemary & Garlic Chips using an Actifry

actifrychips

Greetings, foodie fans! I have a rather short and simple recipe to share with you courtesy of the new kitchen gadget I’ve acquired.

Last July I added an airfryer to my Amazon wish-list. The one I really wanted was the Tefal Actifry and after reading countless reviews, asking about it on Twitter AND waiting patiently for the price to drop, I ordered one last week.

I’ve been craving home-made chips for so long and used to own a deep fat fryer but those things A) waste a lot of oil and B) block your arteries. The airfryer is a healthy and economical way to cook food without the guilt.

Well the first thing I had to make were chips. My first attempt turned out pretty good (if I may say so myself!) and I totally winged it by adding a couple of flavoursome ingredients.

An airfryer does not make chips crisp (which I am not fussed about), but they cook wonderfully well and taste great. I can’t get over how little oil was needed to cook these!

Here’s how I made chips with rosemary and fresh garlic in the Actifry. Dead easy – the appliance does all the hard work.

Ingredients:
1kg potatoes
1 tbsp oil
a few garlic cloves (add according to taste)
1 tsp dried rosemary
a sprinkle of sea salt

Serves 4

Method:

  1. Cut the potatoes into chips, roughly 8-10mm thick.
  2. Wash and dry the potatoes thoroughly. I used baking potatoes but you can use Maris Piper for example, which is excellent for chipping.
  3. Throw into the Actifry, sprinkle the rosemary and sea salt, and add the garlic before drizzling the oil all over. (Cooking time may differ in other airfryers.)
  4. Cook in the Actifry for 40 minutes.  (I halved the quantities of the ingredients therefore the cooking time was divided in half too.)
  5. Serve with a condiment of your choice and enjoy!

chipsactifry2

Leave a Reply

