Prawn, Coconut & Tomato Curry

prawncoconuttomatocurry_main

Hello, I am back after yet another long hiatus. It looks like the Butter Chicken recipe has been keeping many of you quiet and I personally have made it a few times too. Any way, I do have a new recipe to share that I have made twice in the space of two days because it blew my socks off.

I changed one or two things from the recipe (found in a magazine supplement) because I didn’t have the actual ingredients it required. It asks for a curry paste and I only had red curry paste in my kitchen cupboard. Boom! The Prawn, Coconut and Tomato Curry has become a kind of Red Prawn Curry (my favourite Thai dish) without the Kaffir Lime Leaves, Lemongrass, fish sauce and red chillies. Totally tantalising! It takes 30 minutes to make including prepping so it’s perfect when you’ve come home from work and fancy something quick.

OK, so let’s begin:

prawncoconuttomatocurry

Ingredients:
2 tbsp oil (vegetable, sunflower or olive)
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
2 garlic cloves, sliced
1 green chilli, deseeded and sliced
3 tbsp curry paste (I used red curry paste)
1 tbsp tomato puree
200ml vegetable stock
200ml coconut cream
350g raw king prawns
Coriander sprigs and rice, to serve

Serves 4

Method:

  1. Heat the oil in a large frying pan or wok.
  2. Fry the onion, garlic and half the chilli for 5 minutes or until softened.
  3. Add the curry paste and cook for a minute longer.
  4. Then add the tomato puree, stock and coconut cream.
  5. Simmer on medium heat for 10 minutes before adding the prawns and cooking them until they turn opaque.
  6. Scatter over the remaining chilli and the coriander sprigs, and serve with rice.

TIP 1: Don’t be afraid to hot things up, for example use a little extra curry paste or add an extra clove of garlic. If you like things mild, then pour more coconut cream. I’m guesstimating the quantity of ingredients more as it saves time.

TIP 2: If you make too much sauce (as I did once), save some to use next time or drizzle over a fillet of salmon.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sheenie says:

    I should make this again!

Leave a Reply

