Buttery Chilli Prawns

butterychilliprawns

Happy new year, folks! I hope you had a lovely Christmas break (no doubt one which involved eating lots of delicious home cooked food.) One of my resolutions for 2015 is to upload recipes on Cook with Sheenie regularly. In fact I have a few jotted down in my notepad particularly focussing on my new favourite kitchen gadget, my Crock Pot (aka the slow cooker)…but more on that next time! This post is a stupendously quick and easy dish to rustle up and it’s from a recipe I came across on my favourite food website (and magazine), BBC Good Food after I had the sudden urge to eat chilli prawns.

I had to adjust the recipe slightly as the supermarket I visited only had tiger prawns which are much larger (in their shells but headless – that suits me fine) and I went overboard with the garlic and red chilli though that’s down to personal preference. Asda sell giant garlic bulbs so I used three cloves, which are probably the equivalent of six. I think with this recipe it doesn’t matter if you don’t follow the measurements religiously and half the fun comes from guestimating.

Alrightly, I’ll shut up and get cracking. You will need:

Ingredients:
25g butter
2 tbsp olive oil
3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1 red chilli, seeds left in and finely chopped
½ tsp paprika (sweet, smoked or ordinary)
12-20 large raw king prawns with shells (or 6-10 tiger prawns)
1 lemon, juiced
a small bunch of parsley, roughly chopped (I used curly parsley)
small loaf of crusty bread or rolls, warmed to mop up the chilli lemon infused sauce

Serves 2

Method:

  1. Melt the butter and oil together in a frying pan. Add the garlic, chilli and paprika, then fry for a couple of minutes until the mixture starts to turn golden.
  2. Whack up the heat, throw in the prawns and fry for a few minutes, stirring, until the prawns turn pink.
  3. Remove from heat, season and stir in the lemon juice and parsley.
  4. Tell me this doesn’t sound incredible. I can’t wait to make this again!

 

Leave a Reply

